Phil Gammage’s 2002 Noir Jazz Album “Tracks of Sound” Reissued

You’ve been hearing these songs for years on numerous television and film soundtracks — now own the album. Phil Gammage’s acclaimed 2002 noir jazz Tracks of Sound digitally remastered. Featuring the soaring exploratory guitar playing and original compositions of Gammage working with some of New York’s best underground jazz talent. Edgy downtown jazz from New York City with a noir approach. Moody and evocative. With new artwork from Johan Vipper. Deluxe edition only at Bandcamp includes bonus tracks and videos.

Listening now 15 years after it was recorded, the standout is clearly the saxophone work of the enigmatic Ben McGuire. It’s crazy to think he left playing music at age 26! Only adds to his legend and cult status… his playing on the recording is superlative.
~ Phil Gammage

Here’s the rundown:

1. Another’s Weather
A journey to nowhere with a hypnotic melody. Features a blistering Gammage guitar solo.

2. The Green Room
Upbeat feel with a snappy groove. The Green Room is a happy room for all to visit.

3. Clash by Night
An uptempo modernistic take on 50’s crime jazz. Suspense and danger anyone?

4. After Dark
The Teddy Edwards classic here reworked. This one drips with moodiness.

5. Montreal in December
A swingin’ tribute to the Quebec city. For all updated Rat Packers.

6. Pleasant Avenue
A romantic and slow walk down this avenue is sure to bring a smile to her face.

7. Food For Thought
Contemplation. Depth of perception. A mid-tempo drama with a killer Ben McGuire sax solo.

8. Nueva York
A latin-esque beat with an unforgettable melody. Great vibraphone and guitar.

9. In a Scarlet Way
Angular, jagged, and pensive this one features some awesome vocal treatments a la Ima Sumac…

10. General’s Theme
A hauntingly surreal vision. Some sort of dream that ends at midnight.